Human Scale, Musings, Stuff

Plastic

We have to put up with a throwaway culture, and we are sunk deep in it. I’ve know for awhile that there is a huge ball of floating plastic in the Pacific ocean, but I see this garbage everywhere. I bet you do, too.

What can we do? I want to make a concerted effort to cut down on the amount of disposable everything that I use. The items I do use, I want to start R4’ing (reduce, reuse, recycle, repurpose). Maybe the biggest impact might be to get vocal with the packaging and product makers of our disposable deluge. Maybe jurisdictions could pass ordinances that fine companies whose products end up as litter. It isn’t the end user’s fault that there are WalMart and CVS bags stuck in my fence, it’s WalMart and CVS that chose to offer those bags.

Leave a Reply

