Uncategorized

Gearing up

Notice how I’m not hunched over like people who choose internal frame packs

 Ok, I got dressed. Leave me alone. No, seriously you can stay, just help me out with a few things. I went and got my backpack and weighed it.

Actually, I weighed myself first, then put the pack on and weighed myself again, subtracted the latter from the former and got…

Forty-six pounds.

I didn’t really go “ouch” because that is including a full 2 liter reservoir full of water, and another 20 ouncer in the outside pocket, as well as a couple days worth of food, and everything.  And I mean everything, that I will be taking on my AT thru-hike.

It also includes my one person ultralight backpacking tent with footprint and sleeping mat, and a 5 degree winter sleeping bag. And a couple of bricks somewhere, I think.

Is this ultralight backpacking?  Not yet, but I’ll get there.

I’m probably eleven pounds over the top end of ultralight.  But my barely used body is up to it, especially with an external frame pack with a very wide and well padded hip belt.  I’ll be able to lug it ten miles or so over the next couple of days, and that’s all I care about.

After Action Review to follow, and at that point, you can opine on the stuff I can keep and the stuff I can ditch, and the stuff that needs switched out.

2 thoughts on “Gearing up”

  1. I was thinking about reweighing my pack this evening to see where I’m sitting weight wise. Of course, by the time we hit the AT it won’t matter a whole lot because I’ll be down 80 pounds or so. I may just run the whole damn 2,200 miles.

    1. If you think you’re over 35 pounds, it’s a good idea to weigh, just so you know where you’re at, and can plan calories, hydration, etc. But for a ten miler, you should be okay. If not, I look forward to watch you pulling a Katz (A Walk in the Wood) and throwing half the stuff in your pack down into a ravine while cursing at the top of your lung capacity.

Leave a Reply

