Uncategorized

Reasons why…

Near 200 West and 350 South in Shelby County, Indiana

Maybe I should carry a pencil and paper with me.  Yes, I did have my smartphone with me, and I can take notes on it, but when you’re at 90 percent of your max heart rate and going 20 mph on a bike, it is kind of hard to write or type on a virtual keyboard.  Why should I take writing implements with me?  To list the things most people miss.

“What on earth are you talking about, Jim?”

Well, since we are on earth, and most of earth’s land mass has trees and plants and flowers and even what one might consider weeds, and moreover most of us coop ourselves up inside of climate controlled structures, we tend to miss nature.  I think that is unnatural.  And I’m as guilty as the next guy.  One caveat, since my car air conditioning went to funk last fall and I just recently got it recharged, I have spent most of the summer driving with the windows down.  Who cares, you ask?  Nobody in particular.  But I could smell things.  Some of those things (like dead skunks in the middle of the road…stinkin’ to high heaven) were close to enough to make me suffer in the heat but for the most part I was fine.

Since I’ve been biking the country roads of Shelby County, my memory has been re-awakened and my senses stirred because I’m seeing things that most of us pass by without thinking.  Like the guy in the picture.  Would you have seen him if you’d passed me on the road doing sixty with the windows rolled up and the Stones blasting from the speakers?  Would you have smelled the warm carroty scent of Queen Ann’s Lace?  I think not.

Poor you.  Lucky me.

I’m beginning to think that the apex of transportation technology was the Shimano gear shifter.  More on that later, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

