Uncategorized

Settling in

Now I don't have to sit on the floor
Now I don't have to sit on the floor

I’m at the end of my house hunting “vacation.”  I didn’t have to fly far from Martha’s nest, as the new place is right around the corner from where I’ve been staying for the last couple of months.

I flew back to Indiana for a couple of days, spent some time with the family, and drove back to Virginia with Sissy since there’s no convenient time for her to switch schools and she wanted to get it over with as quickly as possible.  We switched drivers every hundred miles or so and indulged in typical road trip comforts, listening to tunes as we drove through the foothills in darkness until we finally arrived at 2 in the morning. 

But this is the place where we’ll spend the next year, or maybe two or three.  The house has a very nice fireplace, oak main and upper floors, and is big enough for the family but small enough to feel cozy.

When Madame gets here end of the week, she’ll purtify and decorate it up real good.  I’m looking forward to that.  Well, I’m looking forward to having furniture besides the sectional which I snagged from Craigslist earlier today, and the card table and two chairs we’re using as a dining room set. 

I’m looking forward to nights of conversation and laughter around the fireplace, bright holidays, and four days off every eight in which I can write!

Leave a Reply

